Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

Observations of owning an AR 10

• Thank you received: 4

Observations of owning an AR 10 was created by dwco

I had originaly purchased an AR 10 as a WTSHTF rifle. During the course of ownership I have some observations that I believe may help present and future owners. Keep in mind I am no expert.. I have just been hunting, shooting, reloading and messing with firearms for over 4o years.

My first impression with the rifle was positive dressed in the A2 build. The rifle fired and cycled with the recommended ammo as specified by Armalite. The fit and finish was exactly as advertised. I have since bought the parts from Armalite and turned the rifle into a flat top. Had to machine my own A2 barrel wrench :angry:

I wanted a hard hitting SHTF rifle. I belive contrary to what Armalite does. When it all goes South, you will need a rifle that will fire, and cycle with just about any round that will fit in the chamber. Access to premo military grade ammo will be hard to find...... because you will be getting shot at with it.......... :blink:

I have experimented with all differing loads with this rifle. From 130gr hollow points to Sierra 168gr MK. Factory loads from just about every manufacturer.

My rifle will not cycle reliably with any of the following. S&B 147gr FMJ, all the in-expensive Wolf and other imports. Most of the in-expensive American made FMJ. My rifle would not cycle reliably wth any powder faster than Win 748 regardless of bullet weight. Cycling with IMR 3031 was real erratic with any bullet weight.

As I said, I believe the rifle should cycle with just about anything that will fit in the chamber.. After all, that may be the only ammo you can find!!
Having a single shot AR platform is not my idea of a good time when faced with multiple un-friendlys BTDT....