Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

Gun Safety lesson

• Thank you received: 8

Gun Safety lesson was created by celser

I have been shooting for 40+ years and have tried to teach my children and fellow law enforcement officers the importance of gun safety. But I learned a important lesson about gun safety last week.

I received a FN 5.7x28 pistol and was dying to try it out but it was raining so I started messing with it in my house. I loaded the magazine and jacked a round into the chamber and reloaded the magazine to full capacity. I was not familiar with FN's and I had no idea about the safety and I grasped the gun, slightly touched the trigger, and shot a hole thru my bedroom wall outside into the yard. This totally shocked me, how could I do this, what a fool.

I sat on my bed thinking, wow, at least I was muzzle aware enough to point it out of the interior of the house (not a conscious plan). My son was watching TV in the next room, what if I had shot him with a 5.7 with two sheets of sheet rock between us, the lord was looking out for me that day.

After the incident I went out and shot the gun and was surprised how light the trigger pull is and how there is no creep unlike my American made pistols, and I figured out the safety. The 5.7 can make tight groups out to 200yrds.

Thought I would share that, I am a gun junkie, I have a problem.

lessons learned:
never mess with loaded and charged guns in the house
never mess with an un-familiar weapon loaded
keep sheet rock patch on hand to keep wife off your case
The French make a fine weapon
The following user(s) said Thank You: NAMVET1970, Akai, Siscowet, Libertarian623
9 years 8 months ago #41479

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 547

Replied by Siscowet on topic Gun Safety lesson

Good lesson and good story. I want one of those.
9 years 8 months ago #41480