Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

questions about upper and lower receivers

• Thank you received: 0

questions about upper and lower receivers was created by derfarhar333

Hello all. My first post here so go easy on me. I am a self-professed noob and these maybe the dumbest questions in the history of man but here goes... I'm wanting to build an AR..308 caliber and a good multi-purpose rifle. I'm also looking to save a little cash by somewhat piecing it together. If I buy a completed upper receiver will it include all the parts so I can attach it to the completed lower receiver and have all the necessary parts? Do they come with a barrel and hand guard? I appreciate the help in advance.

Derek
12 years 8 months ago #8624

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by TrapperJohn on topic Re: questions about upper and lower receivers

If you buy a complete upper it will usually come with everything but the bolt carrier group and the charging handle. You can order these with the upper that way you have all the pieces. LMT will give you that option when you order but I am not sure about Armalite or DPMS. If you are going to order from a web site they usually will state that it does or does not include the BCG (Bolt carrier group) and charging handle. The barrel and hand guard come with the upper.

The thing you want to look out for is if the upper has a forward assist because you will need a BCG to match that upper.

Here is an Armalite upper with the BCG and charging handle included.

www.762sass.com/product.php?p=320&cid=1&...d83fab36ce3d194c88b4

If it does not tell you be sure to contact the seller before you order to check if it comes with those parts or not and if does not have them add those parts to your order.