Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

× Participate in designing the AR10T.com Ultimate AR-10 Rifle! Based solely on the members of this site. The UAR-10 will be a true reflection of the design concepts wanted by this community.

New Barreling for Armalite AR 10?

• Thank you received: 0

New Barreling for Armalite AR 10? was created by moje45

I want to dial down the grouping of my .308 and I know I can do that with a little bit better barrel. I am new to changing out pieces to a rifle, so I apoligize in advance for my lack of knowledge. That being said, the specs for the barrel are:

Barrel: 20" Double Lapped, Chrome Lined, Threaded 5/8x24, 4149 Steel
Rifling Twist: RH 1:11.25"

I pulled these directly from Armalites website. What sort of changes should I make to a new barrel to improve accuracy at long (500 yards+) distances?

Thanks!
13 years 8 months ago #5050

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by moje45 on topic Re:New Barreling for Armalite AR 10?

Forgot to add...I'm shooting 150-175 grain.
13 years 8 months ago #5061

• Thank you received: 102

Replied by BUILDING MY SASS on topic Re:New Barreling for Armalite AR 10?

I am not sure as to what you are looking for...you can go with a longer barrel..there are some companies out there that make good after market barrel but remember...it may void your warranty..I would see first what ArmaLite can set you up with...just trying to help you avoid some head aces...
BMS
It is better to have and not need, than need and not have.

If you think it is time to bury your guns, it is time to dig them up....

"Fight back! Whenever you are offered violence, fight back! The aggressor does not fear the law, so he must be taught to fear you. Whatever the risk, and at whatever...
13 years 8 months ago #5066

Replied by CJR238 on topic Re:New Barreling for Armalite AR 10?