Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

Greenhorn Newbie with a lot of questions...

• Thank you received: 5

Greenhorn Newbie with a lot of questions... was created by JeffSavannah

Hi all. I have searched the site and read everything I think has been said re: .308 vs 7.62 ammo choices for the AR10. I'm sorry to bring up some old topics again, but I have done several hours of research on this forum alone, besides hours and hours elsewhere, and I just can't seem find the answers to the following questions. I am new to this, please bear with me. As I describe in my latest "Introduction", I have a Noveske N6 (carbine, fluted) about to be in my hands sometime next week. It is the Noveske "Mod0" 7.62 NATO chambering. I have tried to learn from Noveske and all over the web about this specific chambering, and from what I've learned it is of tighter tolerance than standard NATO chambering... at least as the headspace is concerned. From my understanding it is somewhere near midway between a true match chambering and a standard NATO.. i.e. the bullet is closer to the lands and grooves.

Noveske reccomends "only quality 7.62 NATO ammunition" and that "some commercial .308 ammuntion may not function reliably due to projectile design or improperly staked primers" (just to show you I have *tried* to do my homework before asking questions, I just repeated that from memory, no cut and paste!). I've also read up and it's not like you absolutely can't shoot .308, you just have to know what you are doing. NATO ammo is obviously harder to find, so I'm trying to find a safe happy medium here. This barrel is 1:10 twist. My questions are as follows (and I'm a little more ashamed to call Noveske to ask this stuff than to ask here, so please be gentle):