Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

Building AR-10 Hunting/Battle Rifle -- first-timer

• Thank you received: 0

Building AR-10 Hunting/Battle Rifle -- first-timer was created by lickfrog

First off, I'm really new to the subject in general. I've been doing a lot of research and have learn a lot about the basic parts and how they work but have never even had a change to hold an AR type rifle let a lone fire one, so my knowledge of the subject is rather pathetic at best. I'd like to build one mostly for the fun of learning and the pride that comes from knowing I can!

The primary use of this rifle will be for hunting so I'd like to be able to take full advantage of the long range ballistics of the 7.62/.308 rounds. Accuracy is also a concern. Price is not as much a concern since I'll be buy parts as I go but would like to keep cost to mini. (thinking $1500-$2500 or better?!)

My main point in posting is because, like i said, I know the basics and don't want to missing anything important. I've looked a lot at RRA, CMMG, and DMPS but don't know what other brands to look at. Any suggestions or best practice advice would be great. Thanks!

1) Is 7.62 or .308 better and can they (realistically) both be used through the same rifle?

2) Chrome Lined... what would be the best choice for hunting and still be good for battle/duty use?

3) Carbine or Piston... (never had to clean one so don't really know if its really an issue) thoughts?

4) Recommended parts and pricing?

5) Are there any lefties?

6) Is it better to buy complete upper or lower or build?
Last edit: 13 years 11 months ago by lickfrog.
13 years 11 months ago #4264

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• a Guest
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

Replied by a Guest on topic Re:Building AR-10 Hunting/Battle Rifle -- first-timer

Last edit: 13 years 11 months ago by a Guest.