Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

AR-10T not cycling, please help

• Thank you received: 0

AR-10T not cycling, please help was created by SubaruEJ25

Hey guys I'm new to the world of AR-10s but a long time shooter. I recently purchased an Armalite AR-10T, it was manufactured in 2007 but appears to be a safe queen. It has a lot of nice upgrades; Vtac rail, JP muzzle brake, JP gas block... Anyway, I take it to the range and after the 1st few rounds it stopped cycling properly. It would either fire and eject without reloading or jam a round half way in and dent the case. I am using 168 gr PPU match bthp's which have been very successful in all my .308 bolt guns. I tried using liberal amounts of CLP on the BCG and adjusting the gas block but still have cycling problems. Can anyone offer some advice? Thanks!!!
9 years 3 months ago #44007

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 556

Replied by jtallen83 on topic AR-10T not cycling, please help

Any evidence of gas leaking at the block or between the tube and the BCG?
When you say adjusted the gas block what exactly do you mean? Sometimes they are a little out of position from the port.
LIBERTY FIRST!
9 years 3 months ago #44009

• Thank you received: 547

Replied by Siscowet on topic AR-10T not cycling, please help

I get nervous when I hear aftermarket gas block. That would be my first suspicion. Like JT says, I wonder if the gas block is a little out of alignment with the gas port in the barrel. Is the gas adjustment secure, or could it work itself partially open with repeated recoil? Doubt it is the ammo. It might be just break in. Lube it up and run some surplus ammo through it and see if it loosens up, otherwise, check with a competent gunsmith. Wonder if the previous owner has the original gas block?
9 years 3 months ago #44010

• Thank you received: 216