Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

SASS Question

• Thank you received: 0

SASS Question was created by leoniru

Still waiting on an SASS I ordered in early November --- one that I was told was in stock at the time of order, then told a week later (when I called to see where it was) that it was "...on backorder..". BUT I found one in Ohio and bought it!.....too....believe me, the wifey is less than pleased with my recent disposition of income I've yet to earn! I figure if the one on order ever shows up, I'll turn it over for a reasonable profit. I'm not holding my breath though, that it'll ever show up.
As I'm a newbie wrt AR-style weapons I have a question as to the originality of the rifle I do have in hand. The seller SAID it was an original SASS that he had for about 7 months. Unfired to boot. I pray that it is an original SASS and not something pieced-together by the seller and misrepresented. I grabbed it quick not even considering that it might not be factory original until it arrived.
It has the AAC-configured 20" ceramic-coated barrel, mock suppressor, adjustable gas block, Magpul PRS stock, and TangoDown forend with three sections of rail covers. It came with one 20 round mag, and what appears to be an original Armalite manual. No sling, no swivels, and the Magpul is missing the sliding cover/cap off the bottom rail section. Some small blems in the anodizing here and there (primarily on the forend and trigger gaurd ) --- which look like handling marks from someone who wears a ring.
What's confusing to me is that the left side of the lower has (underneath Armalite's logo)

Rifle 7.62MM

AR-10(T)

US 305XXX(6 digit serial #)

and the rail is not laser engraved like is stated for the rifle's description in all current literature.