Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

× Welcome! Please take a minute to introduce yourself.

AR - 10T or AR - 10SBF (Super SASS)???

• Thank you received: 0

AR - 10T or AR - 10SBF (Super SASS)??? was created by tortuga_hunter

I'm new to the AR-10 market and have been doing a lot of research for my next build and I'm confused about the performance differences between the standard AR-10 and the Super SASS. Obviously the SASS has an upgraded barrel and cosmetic features such as the stock and handguard... but other than the those items which I could have done after I buy the rifle is there any thing proprietary that couldn't be replicated? is it really worth the additional $$? Another question i have is barrel length... I'm from the long rifle mindset that the longer the barrel the more accurate the rifle but I've noticed the SASS comes stock with a 20" barrel, I've seen some nice used AR-10's around with 24" barrels... is there a major performance difference using either one?

What a great site!
15 years 3 weeks ago #1320

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 12

Replied by crux on topic Re:AR - 10T or AR - 10SBF (Super SASS)???

Over the standard AR-10, the Super SASS and (T) both have a match barrel, match quality components, and free float aluminum hand guard (quad rail for the SASS). On top of that, the SASS has the precision stock (very comfy), the adjustible gas system, and mounting point for a suppressor.

20" is said by some to be optimal for .308 depending on load, but there's diverse opinion about the merits of greater length.