Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

OAL Problem

• Thank you received: 25

OAL Problem was created by bipe215

I have been loading 168 gr SMK at 2.80 oal in my new AR10T. I just got a Hornady oal gauge and found out that at 2.80 I'm still .074 off the lands. I have determined that I can go out to 2.855 and still fit in the Armalite mag. Of course I'm still about .020 off the lands at that length. Does anyone else have experience reloading for a 'long throat' AR10?
I should add that my friend 'Keifer T' on this forum, has the same gun just a few serial numbers from mine (we bought them the same day) and he is just
.020 off the lands at 2.80 oal with the same load.

Steve
11 years 2 months ago #16823

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 67

Replied by foxhunter on topic OAL Problem

I am no expert, so probably no help on this. I only try to get on the lands with my bolt guns, but I don't target shoot except on my own range. Given that the bullet will likely move forward out of the case up to .007inches or more when the bolt slams the bullet forward in an AR, I am more concerned with keeping the bullet in the case than having it fit in the lands, so I keep my bullet length at 2.81 for all my AR's.
11 years 2 months ago #16839

Replied by bipe215 on topic OAL Problem

I think if I do seat some on out closer to the lands I'll probably use a light crimp. Hornady also has a spire point with an odd ogive that is closer to the tip that might help alot. The problem will be finding them.

Steve
11 years 2 months ago #16840

• Thank you received: 188

Replied by LebbenB on topic OAL Problem

By going with a lighter crimp on a semi-auto, you run the risk of bullet setback as the cartridge gets jostled in the magazine and as it feeds into the chamber.
RLTW
11 years 2 months ago #16845

• Thank you received: 171