Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

Recipe with no primer listed

• Thank you received: 2

Recipe with no primer listed was created by super8mm

I am just beginning to get into reloading and I will have some questions.

Here is my first one. For beginning I thought of using IMR 8208 and it has some good reviews and then Serra bullets.

Hodgdon’s web site has 4 different loads using this combination and was thinking of doing about 50 each to have on hand for starters. They are a plinking round, varmint , large game and target rounds

The one thing missing from the charts are what primers to use. Is there a guideline if no primer is listed like using any standard large rifle primer?

Thanks
10 years 8 months ago #27796

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 556

Replied by jtallen83 on topic Recipe with no primer listed

That is what I have done in the past, when no specific primer is listed anywhere then I use the standard large rifle primer I have available. Of late I have had to substitute magnum primers so when working up these loads I knocked off 10% on the powder, this is being conservative. Looking at posts on different reloading sites many claim one brand primer to be hotter than the other, I load for accuracy and not speed so I just start working up from the minimum till I find that tight group for my rifle. So far the Hodgdon info has always functioned in my AR-10 from the minimum. With reloading components being in short supply I've had to work with lots of new combinations but no issues so far.... :pray:
LIBERTY FIRST!
10 years 8 months ago #27800

Replied by super8mm on topic Recipe with no primer listed

I saw some CCI primers yesterday, they even had two bags of .308 brass
10 years 8 months ago #27802

• Thank you received: 188

Replied by LebbenB on topic Recipe with no primer listed