Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

Scope Slipping

• Thank you received: 21

Scope Slipping was created by Moby

I went to the range and when I returned home I noticed my focus knob didn't turn. Looking closer I found the scope had slipped and pushed hard against the one piece rings.

Do you guys use Locktite or some other way to prevent this? The screws are tight.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

Last edit: 11 years 6 months ago by Moby.
11 years 6 months ago #12522

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 3

Replied by sonogun on topic Re: Scope Slipping

I am still waiting for my scope so I have no hands on experience with your problem. What I do know is there are three basic forms of Loktite and they come in three colors. If you do go that route, I would use the blue (medium strength). My understanding is that a scope mount is a precision device itself to some degree so if you place anything between the scope and rings, you could cause a problem with keeping the scope properly sited. I have had similar problems with other applications that I resolved by shimming. If you were to take a few large Bandaid Sheerstrips and only use the rubberized adhesive portion, perfectly applied around the scope where the ring placements are located with no over lapping ridges, that would give you a rubberized non slip service between the mount and scope. Is that a one inch scope tube or 30mm? When you say the screws are tight, is there any remaining gap between the upper and lower halves of the mount? If the top half of the mount is clamping down on the bottom half, then it can not clamp on the scope with enough force to prevent slipping in which case something is out of spec and shimming will resolve that. I hope this gives you something to look into until the experts chime in.