Welcome to AR10T.com, the world's first forum dedicated to AR-10™ rifles .  We invite you to JOIN our friendly firearms enthusiast forum.

Scope base MOA elevations...my brain is fried.

• Thank you received: 23

Scope base MOA elevations...my brain is fried. was created by funfred

Looking into scope bases with built-in elevation and I can't see straight anymore.
Between wild variations in reported bullet drops and trying to figure mils/moa for an appropriate base, I'm about lost. I have no real experience dialing for distance nor do I know(for sure) the chosen ammo's bullet drops.

Using an Armalite SuperSASS with 20", 1-in-10 twist barrel, I intend to start with FGMM 168gr between 100-300yds up to 600, and eventually graduate to the 175gr for 600-1000yds.

On with the dilemna, I'm attempting to find the right base elevation so as not to have to buy another base.

The chosen scope (Steiner M5Xi 3-15x50) has 26mils of elevation adjustment and the bases of choice are Spuhr 6mil or 13 mil (roughly 20 and 40 moa) with 1.18" height (I'll have an 1/8" scope bell to rail clearance). Spuhr states that a base's elevation can be half of the scope's elevation range but then goes on to say 40+moa bases can create an oval-ing of the sight picture...am I correct in assuming this is due to the reticle being brought to the extremes of its range?

Anyway, the issue I'm trying to wrap my head around is twofold given the equipment choices...
- Will I be able to shoot 100 yds with the 13mil base w/o holding under?
- Will I be able to shoot 1000yds with the 6mil base w/o holding over?

It seems like straight forward math but I can't add 2 and 2 any more. Assuming the scope has an actual 26 mils (its sister scope also spec-ed at 26 mils measured 27.1), it seems I would be cutting it close with either base choice given the applications.

My gut tells me the 6 mil will be fine for 100-1000 but information overload has scrambled my over-riding neurons.

Hence, please help! :pray: